Five Books Newsletter 20


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

This week's interview

http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/staff-picks-sophie-roell-on-summer-reads

STAFF PICKS: Sophie Roell on Summer Reads

With summer upon us, it’s time to get a good set of books together to go on holiday. Five Books editor Sophie Roell kicks off our occasional “Staff Picks” feature by choosing books that might be good to read down at the beach or under a vine draped pergola in Italy.

Books of the Week

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/double-cross-system-by-j-c-masterman"Masterman decided that it was in the public interest to publish this book. Many criticised him very vociferously for doing so."

Ben Macintyre on Spies (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/ben-macintyre-on-spies)

www.fivebooks.com/recommended/taste-morocco-by-robert-carrier"You turn over a couple of pages and you can’t wait to start cooking."

Diane Seed on Mediterranean Cooking (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/diane-seed-on-mediterranean-cooking)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/genius-system-–-hollywood-film-making-studio-era-by-thomas-schatz"Film theory was dominated for many years by the idea of the visionary auteur, who managed, in the hell of Hollywood’s studio system, to nonetheless produce amazing work."

Jane Root on Where Good Ideas Come From (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/jane-root-on-where-good-tv-ideas-come)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/south-pole-by-roald-amundsen"It wasn’t an expedition in our sense of the word. Rather, it was the longest ski race in the world."

Roland Huntford on Polar Exploration (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/roland-huntford-on-polar-exploration)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/summer-lightning-by-pg-wodehouse"Summer Lightning is a detective story crossed with a romantic farce. It’s set in Blandings Castle, Wodehouse’s famous fictional country idyll."

Sophie Ratcliffe on PG Wodehouse (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/sophie-ratcliffe-on-pg-wodehouse)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/inequality-america-what-role-human-capital-policies-by-james-j-heckman-alan-b-krueger"It turns out that already at age four, you can predict with about 77 per cent accuracy who is going to graduate from high school."

David Brooks on Neuroscience (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/david-brooks-on-neuroscience)

Quote of the Week

"A lot of people believe that the language that you speak alters your thought in really profound and deep ways. It’s one of the most common themes of the 20th century...but it turned out not to be true.'"
Robert Lane Greene on Language and the Mind (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/robert-lane-greene-on-language-and-mind)

Join 75,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Visitors from India: if you've had trouble renewing or signing up, please email support@thebrowser.com and we'll give you a free subscription
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search