Five Books Newsletter 21


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

This week's interview

http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/simon-blackburn-on-david-hume

Simon Blackburn on David Hume

Hume had a message he wanted to get out — particularly as regards skepticism about religion — but he was no proto-Richard Dawkins, says Simon Blackburn. He chooses the best books on David Hume.

Books of the Week

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/colonial-fantasies-by-meyda-yegenoglu"Yegenoglu explores the western fascination with the veil and the veiled women of the east."

Elif Shafak on Turkey (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/elif-shafak-on-turkey)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/beauty-and-sorrow-by-peter-englund"We know the main narrative of World War I – Germany loses and Britain wins – but within that big narrative people’s individual experiences often have no relation at all."

Geoff Dyer on Unusual Histories (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/geoff-dyer-on-unusual-histories)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/where-are-customers’-yachts-by-fred-schwed"Even now, some 70 years later, this is still the funniest book ever written about Wall Street."

Jason Zweig on Personal Finance (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/jason-zweig-on-personal-finance)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/day-picasso-by-billy-klüver"It's a true detective story about photography."

Errol Morris on Photography and Reality (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/errol-morris-on-photography-and-reality)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/edge-physics-by-anil-ananthaswamy"Anil Ananthaswamy is like a pilgrim on a journey, travelling to these great scientific establishments and trying to understand the universe."

Stuart Clark on Astronomers (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/stuart-clark-on-astronomers)

Quote of the Week

"Hume’s position is you can’t check out of Hotel Supernatural with any more baggage than you took into it. That’s a very important discovery. It means that arguing about the existence of God becomes kind of pointless."
Simon Blackburn on David Hume (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/simon-blackburn-on-david-hume)

Join 90,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search