Five Books Newsletter 22


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

This week's interview

http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/alec-ash-on-what-novelists-read

Alec Ash on What Novelists Read

Who better to suggest a good read than a novelist? Continuing our summer “Staff Picks” feature, Alec Ash selects five recommendations straight from the horse’s mouth.

Books of the Week

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/christ-stopped-eboli-by-carlo-levi"Levi’s place of exile is so trapped in its own poverty that even Christ couldn’t reach it."

Paul Theroux on Travelling (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/paul-theroux-on-travelling)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/devil-dover-by-lauri-lebo"It is lively, well written and for any readers looking for insight into the debate about creationism you couldn’t pick a better book."

Kenneth Miller on Arguments against Creationism (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/kenneth-miller-on-arguments-against-creationism)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/cook’s-companion-complete-book-ingredients-and-recipes-australian-kitchen-by-stephanie-a"She’s very good on ingredients, and because she’s had years and years of experience, it’s very, very first hand."

Nigel Slater on The Top Cookbooks of All Time (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/nigel-slater-on-top-cookery-books-all-time)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/and-band-played-people-politics-and-aids-epidemic-by-randy-shilts"In those days we didn’t have marriage, we had sex clubs."

Jonathan Rauch on Marriage (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/jonathan-rauch-on-marriage)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/narrow-road-deep-north-by-matsuo-basho"I have travelled a lot in Japan, and it’s difficult for me to travel there without Basho near me."

Edmund de Waal on Inspiration for Writing and Art (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/edmund-de-waal-on-inspiration-writing-and-art)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/white-nile-by-alan-moorehead"It’s fun, rollicking and, at times, hilarious. It is the prose of someone who was educated before Marxism entered the campuses and before any whiff of political correctness existed."

Dan Morrison on The Nile (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/dan-morrison-on-nile)

Quote of the Week

"We all know that if we pursue pleasures to excess they turn into something painful."
AC Grayling on Being Good (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/ac-grayling-on-being-good)

Join 90,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search