Five Books Newsletter 27


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

This week's interview

http://fivebooks.com/interviews/robert-talisse-on-pragmatism http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/maxim-d-shrayer-on-vasily-grossman

Robert Talisse on Pragmatism

Pragmatism is a philosophical movement that has dominated philosophy in America from the early 1900s to the present day, argues the philosopher and political theorist. He chooses the best books on pragmatism.

Books of the Week

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/worst-journey-world-by-apsley-cherry-garrard“It's ostensibly the story of Captain Scott’s 1912 expedition to the Antarctic, but it’s really about all places in all times and is possibly the best book ever written.”

Sara Wheeler on The Polar Regions (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/sara-wheeler-on-polar-regions)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/sex-lives-cannibals-adrift-equatorial-pacific-by-j-maarten-troost“It’s the funniest of all the books I've read.”

Jennifer Steil on Foreign Memoirs (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/jennifer-steil-on-foreign-memoirs)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/plunkitt-tammany-hall-by-william-l-riordon“Plunkitt, a somewhat corrupt politician, unabashedly defends the system he was part of. It’s not filtered through the lenses of later historians or progressive muckrakers.”

Edward L Glaeser on Urban Economics (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/edward-l-glaeser-on-urban-economics)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/mortal-questions-by-thomas-nagel“This is a wonderful book, a series of chapters on different themes to do with life and death.”

David Edmonds on Ethical Problems (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/david-edmonds-on-ethical-problems)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/new-oxford-annotated-bible-apocrypha-new-revised-standard-version-by-michael-coogan-marc“This is the Bible I use as a college professor teaching biblical studies at a secular university.”

Timothy Beal on Bibles (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/timothy-beal-on-bibles)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/ghost-map-by-steven-johnson-0“It unfolds like the most exciting thriller.”

Seth Mnookin on Vaccines (fivebooks.com/interviews/seth-mnookin-on-vaccines)

Quote of the Week

"Fear is a great examiner of one’s character. ”
Michael Howard on War (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/michael-howard-on-war)

Join 95,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search