Five Books Newsletter 30


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

This week's interview

http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/john-kay-on-economics-real-world-business-and-finance http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/john-kay-on-economics-real-world-business-and-finance

John Kay on Economics in the Real World

Most people completing degrees in economics won't have read these books, but they should, says the British economist.

Books of the Week

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/housekeepers-diary-charles-and-diana-breakup-by-wendy-berry“When it said 'Banned in Britain' on the cover I knew it was a book that I had to read.”

Katie Nicholl on Modern Day Royals (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/katie-nicholl-on-modern-day-royals)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/remedy-and-reaction-by-paul-starr“If you want to read one book and learn something about the policy and the politics of health reform, this is a fine choice.”

Austin Frakt on US Healthcare Reform (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/austin-frakt-on-us-healthcare-reform)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/hangover-square-by-patrick-hamilton“It’s somewhere between a crime novel and a political novel, created out of the madness of drink and derangement.”

Iain Sinclair on London (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/iain-sinclair-on-london)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/dangerous-rise-therapeutic-education-by-kathryn-ecclestone-and-dennis-hayes“The way children feel has become more important than what they learn.”

Frank Furedi on The Crisis in Education (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/frank-furedi-on-crisis-education)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/desert-by-john-c-van-dyke“It is a book that completely changed the American idea of what the Western desert could be, and Sierra Club hikers still carry it around.”

Hari Kunzru on the American Desert (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/hari-kunzru-on-mojave-desert)

Quote of the Week

"It was telling that the protests that marked Bin Laden’s death were incredibly small. He became more irrelevant over time. ”
Peter Bergen on Osama bin Laden (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/peter-bergen-on-osama-bin-laden)

Join 75,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Visitors from India: if you've had trouble renewing or signing up, please email support@thebrowser.com and we'll give you a free subscription
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search