Five Books Newsletter 32


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

This week's interview

http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/peter-hessler-on-narrative-nonfiction http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/peter-hessler-on-narrative-nonfiction

Peter Hessler on Narrative Nonfiction

The writer and journalist Peter Hessler selects five books, from Haight Ashbury to a fifth grade classroom, which show how nonfiction can bring true stories to life through literary techniques

Books of the Week

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/colors-mind-by-angus-fletcher“What Angus Fletcher taught me, and teaches others, is a very complex matter of what it means for thinking to take place in a literary work.”

Harold Bloom on Literary Criticism (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/harold-bloom-on-literary-criticism)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/science-and-islam-history-by-ehsan-masood“This book looks at different areas of science in which the Islamic world excelled. It uses the word ‘science’ in the medieval sense, including, for example, philosophy working from Aristotelian material. It all started in Baghdad with the establishment of the Abbasid caliphate in 750AD.”

Amira Bennison on Science and Islam (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/amira-bennison-on-science-and-islam)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/how-pleasure-works-by-paul-bloom“He says that we like what we like, not because of what it presents to our senses…but through our beliefs about what the item is.'”

Susan Gelman on Essentialism (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/susan-gelman-on-essentialism)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/philosophy-cognitive-behavioural-therapy-by-donald-robertson“Donald explores the relationship between ancient philosophy and CBT with a scholarly appreciation for the intelligence and beauty of the original material.”

Jules Evans on Ancient Philosophy for Modern Life (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/jules-evans-on-ancient-philosophy-modern-life)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/walden-by-henry-david-thoreau“In 1845 the American naturalist went out to live in the woods of Western Massachusetts. Thoreau was one of the great masters of the art of simple living.”

Roman Krznaric on The Art of Living (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/roman-krznaric-on-art-living)

Quote of the Week

"Starting with the Bible, an individual sexual transgression became an act of sedition against the whole society.”
Eric Berkowitz on Sex and Society (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/eric-berkowitz-on-sex-and-society)

Join 75,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Visitors from India: if you've had trouble renewing or signing up, please email support@thebrowser.com and we'll give you a free subscription
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search