Five Books Newsletter 34


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

This week's interview

http://fivebooks.com/interviews/jonathan-cook-on-palestinians-israel http://fivebooks.com/interviews/jonathan-cook-on-palestinians-israel

Jonathan Cook on Palestinians in Israel

Palestinians living in Israel are cut off from both sides of the conflict and constantly trying to square the circle, argues Nazareth-based writer Jonathan Cook.

Books of the Week

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/cry-beloved-country-by-alan-paton“This book deals with issues of culture and race and rural/urban and generational divides in a way that is still true today.”

Cecile Richards on How Progressives Can Make a Difference (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/cecile-richards-on-how-progressives-can-make-difference)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/bach-well-tempered-clavier-cd-by-g-schirmer“It is so simple and it is so very sensitive, it goes right into me, it probes right through my outer shell. I can’t imagine anybody could resist this kind of music.”

Johanna Reiss on Suicide (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/johanna-reiss-on-suicide)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/man-without-face-by-masha-gessen“She thinks Putin is afflicted by a rare form of kleptomania called pleonexia, where you get quasi-sexual satisfaction from expropriation.”

Edward Lucas on Putin and Russian History (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/edward-lucas-on-putin-and-russian-history)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/worst-date-ever-war-crimes-hollywood-heart-throbs-and-other-abominations-by-jane-bussman“She goes from interviewing Britney Spears to interviewing child soldiers and refugees...it’s incredibly funny.”

Michela Wrong on Africa (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/michela-wrong-on-africa)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/evil-by-roy-baumeister“Baumeister reviews the various psychological roots of evil.”

Steven Pinker on the Decline of Violence (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/steven-pinker-on-decline-violence)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/how-talk-so-kids-will-listen-and-listen-so-kids-will-talk-by-adele-faber-and-elaine-mazl“This is perhaps the best book every written. I read it years ago and it really did change my life, even before I ever had kids.”

Andrew Gelman on Statistics (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/andrew-gelman-on-statistics)

Quote of the Week

"In chess hard work is often underestimated while the idea of effortless genius is greatly overestimated.”
Dominic Lawson on Chess (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/dominic-lawson-on-chess)

Join 90,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search