Five Books Newsletter 4


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

http://fivebooks.comhttp:fivebooks.com

Five Books Newsletter

Dear Five Books reader,

Below are our book picks for this week, from some of my favourite interviews.

Please enjoy and have a lovely weekend!

Sophie Roell

sophie.roell@fivebooks.com (sophie.roell@fivebooks.com)

This Week's Books

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/dhammapada-sayings-buddha-by-rendering-thomas-byrom

"The Dhammapada is one of the greatest psychological works ever written."

Jonathan Haidt on Happiness (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/jonathan-haidt-on-happiness)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/nicomachean-ethics-by-aristotle

"Friendship is a very important thing for Aristotle, and perhaps one of the most beautiful things in the Nichomachean Ethics is his discussion of friendship."

AC Grayling on Being Good (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/ac-grayling-on-being-good)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/writing-memoir-craft-by-stephen-king

"All writing teachers hate adverbs. I don’t know why. What’s wrong with a little adverb every now and then? Why does our language have adverbs if we’re not supposed to use them?"

Eric Olsen on How to Write (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/eric-olsen-on-how-write)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/influence-by-robert-b-cialdini

"It also shows you how much other people have control, at the end of the day, over our actions."

Dan Ariely on Behavioural Economics (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/dan-ariely-on-behavioural-economics)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/charles-darwin-by-janet-browne

"This book may be the best scientific biography that I’ve ever read."

Jerry Coyne on Evolution (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/jerry-coyne-on-evolution)

Quote of the Week

"The main reason for the survival of religion is not a desire to live a better life, but our fear of death."
Susan Jacoby on Atheism (www.fivebooks.com/interviews/susan-jacoby-on-atheism )

Join 75,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Visitors from India: if you've had trouble renewing or signing up, please email support@thebrowser.com and we'll give you a free subscription
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search