Five Books Newsletter 5


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

http://fivebooks.comhttp:fivebooks.com

Five Books Newsletter

Dear Five Books reader,

I hope you enjoy this Friday's selection of books, chosen from our extensive library of interviews. Also, on our temporary homepage, I have posted all our China interviews, in celebration of the conclusion, this week, of the National People's Congress, the annual meeting of China's parliament. I currently live in Beijing, which means it's been hard to avoid the 24/7 coverage, but in case it hasn't hit your radar screen in quite the same way, Xi Jinping is now, officially, the new president of China -- or, to use the Chinese term, its chairman. We hope for much from him.

Have a lovely weekend!

Sophie Roell

sophie.roell@fivebooks.com (sophie.roell@fivebooks.com)

This Week's Books

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/dreams-my-father-story-race-and-inheritance-by-barack-obama

"The point he makes, and I agree with him, is that corruption is not about personal greed, it’s about compassion"

Michela Wrong on Africa (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/michela-wrong-on-africa)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/accidental-connoisseur-by-lawrence-osborne

"There is optimism in America. Although our wines might not be as complex as those in Europe, they are brighter and livelier."

Randall Grahm on Wine (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/randall-grahm-on-wine)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/story-stone-by-cao-xueqin

"This is very much the War and Peace of China."

Chris Livaccari on Five Books every Chinese Language Learner Should Read (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/chris-livaccari-on-language-and-culture-china)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/eleanor-aquitaine-by-alison-weir

"Eleanor was 30 at the time of her second marriage, and her new husband was only 19."

Nancy Goldstone on Strong Women in Bad Marriages (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/nancy-goldstone-on-strong-women-bad-marriages)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/worldly-philosophers-by-robert-l-heilbroner

"I am an economist today because of this book."

Daniel Hamermesh on Economics is Fun (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/daniel-hamermesh-on-economics-fun)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/wikinomics-how-mass-collaboration-changes-everything-by-don-tapscott-and-anthony-d-willi

"This book basically says wikis work and wikis are important and wikis are the way of the future."

Tyler Cowen on Information (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/tyler-cowen-on-information)

Quote of the Week

"We all make bargains with the society we live in, and theirs were just a different set of bargains."
Diarmaid MacCulloch on the History of Christianity (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/diarmaid-macculloch-on-history-christianity)

Join 90,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search