Five Books Newsletter 8


Hic sunt camelopardus: this historical edition of The Browser is presented for archaeological purposes; links and formatting may be broken.

http://fivebooks.comhttp:fivebooks.com

Five Books Newsletter

Dear Five Books reader,

Below our selection of books for this week. We hope you find at least one you like!

Have a lovely weekend!

Sophie Roell

sophie.roell@fivebooks.com (sophie.roell@fivebooks.com)

This Week's Books

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/beautiful-thing-inside-secret-world-bombay’s-dance-bars-by-sonia-faleiro

"It’s the combination of the glamour and the degradation that makes it fascinating, this book."

Patrick French on India (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/patrick-french-on-india)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/writer’s-journey-by-christopher-vogler

"It’s the best book on how to write a screenplay ever written." (’s-journey-by-christopher-vogler)

Darren Aronofsky on Making Movies (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/darren-aronofsky-on-making-movies)

http://www.fivebooks.com/recommended/mind-mnemonist-little-book-about-vast-memory-by-aleksandr-r-luria

"Supposedly, 'S' had a vacuum cleaner memory. He could remember anything."

Joshua Foer on Memory (http://www.fivebooks.com/interviews/joshua-foer-on-memory)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/how-talk-so-kids-will-listen-and-listen-so-kids-will-talk-by-adele-faber-and-elaine-mazl

"This was a book that I read years ago because it happened to be on my sister’s bookshelf, and it really did change my life.’"

Andrew Gelman on Statistics (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/andrew-gelman-on-statistics)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/forbidden-best-sellers-pre-revolutionary-france-by-robert-darnton

"The French Revolution was driven by ideas, and once you start trying to trace ideas you have to consider the print in which ideas were carried."

William St Clair on Reading the Romantics (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/william-st-clair-on-reading-romantics)

http://fivebooks.com/recommended/old-maid-by-suzanne-finnamore

"This is one of the most caustic, true books I have ever read – the kind you immediately start quoting at your friends."

Sophie Kinsella on Chick Lit (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/sophie-kinsella-on-chick-lit)

Quote of the Week

"The real question professionals grapple with is not whether a particular policy is good – because it rarely is – but whether it is less bad than all the other possible options out there."
Gideon Rose on US Foreign Policy (http://fivebooks.com/interviews/gideon-rose-on-us-foreign-policy)

Join 95,000+ curious readers who grow with us every day

No spam. No nonsense. Unsubscribe anytime.

Great! Check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription
Please enter a valid email address!
You've successfully subscribed to The Browser
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Could not sign in! Login link expired. Click here to retry
Cookies must be enabled in your browser to sign in
search